Topic: Books

Sva-niyama Dvādaśakam

‘Svaniyama Dvādaśakam,’ composed in 1907, is the last work written by Bkaktivinoda Ṭhākura before he took bābājī-veśa and engaged in nirjana-bhajana. This composition is based upon the ten prayers of Śrīla Raghunātha Dāsa Gosvāmī entitled ‘Svaniyama Daśakam.’ The work of Bhaktivinoda Ṭhākura is a daily meditation upon the things that are favourable and unfavourable for vraja-bhajana. The thirteenth verse, or phala-śruti, gives the faithful reader the blessing of attaining Rādhā-Kṛṣṇa in Vraja.

Bhajana Rahasya – Chapter 1

Bhajana Rahasya was written by Bhaktivinoda Ṭhākura in 1902 as a supplement to his Hari-nāma-cintāmaṇi. The text has eight chapters corresponding with the eight verses of Śrī Caitanya’s Śikṣāṣṭakam and each chapter is to be read during three hour periods during twenty-four hours. Each chapter also explains one of the eight divisions of the process of bhakti according to Rūpa Gosvāmī’s Bhakti-rasāmṛta-sindhu. Each Sanskrit verse that Bhaktivinoda quotes is accompanied by his own Bengali verse translation.

Śrī Navadvīpa-dhāma Māhātmya – Chapter Eighteen

Śrī Navadvīpa-dhāma Māhātmya was composed by Bhaktivinoda Ṭhākura in 1890. This work consists of 18 chapters of Bengali verse wherein Bhaktivinoda describes Śrī Nityānanda Prabhu taking a young Jīva Gosvāmī on a pilgrimage of the nine islands of Navadvīpa-dhāma, and describing the various pastimes that occurred in those holy places. Preluding the actual text is a Sanskrit prayer of 20 verses composed by Bhaktivinoda Ṭhākura’s called Śrīman Navadvīpa-dhāma Vandanā.

Go to Top